inspiredness TM

Copyright 2013

Instagram self-portrait

Walk with Him Wednesdays: Sacrifice

4 Comments

“The next 3 weeks, as we walk with Him towards Easter, might we consider: The Practice of Sacrifice. We look forward to your thoughts, stories, ideas….”~Ann Voskamp

I thought I knew what ‘sacrifice’ meant when I became a mother. I filled my head with the idea that if I hadn’t taken a shower for three {or more} days that was sacrifice. If I fed my children before I even attempted to feed myself that was sacrifice. If I cleaned, cooked, played, read book after book before I thought of taking a break {and sometimes this meant just using the bathroom}…these were sacrifices.

Yes, it’s true…these are all sacrifices of sorts. But really in all these “sacrifices” I’ve sacrificed myself and led myself down a very rough road. A road that took me to the depths of depression, thoughts of suicide, feelings of hopelessness. I thought I could do it all…be “super mom.” And when I finally wore myself down to the very earth that I could no longer stand on, all the pretending I had done…pretending to have it all together…gave way and left me vulnerable.

Vulnerable is not a spot I like to be in. Being in this place means I have to trust…I’m not sure I inherently possess this…trust. I did it for a moment though, this trust thing. I trusted God…that He would take care of me through the people who were taking care of me. It took going to those ugly depths to trust Him.

I’m not as deep as I was almost exactly two years ago. I’m not crying every minute of the day. I’m not thinking of locking myself and my kids in the garage with the car running. I’m not afraid to leave the house, afraid that someone will see the ugly marks of depression on my soul. Praise the Lord for this!

But…do I truly know what sacrifice is?

Author: Noell Sole - Radiant Living

Noell is a Registered Nurse (RN) and mom of 4 with a passion to help others achieve and maintain optimal health and well being...one step at a time, one day at a time! She has recently partnered with USANA Health Sciences and OneBody International to further increase her potential in helping others with their health & wellness goals!

4 thoughts on “Walk with Him Wednesdays: Sacrifice

  1. Wow that was amazingly personal, deep and beautiful. Thank you for sharing yourself so honestly and openly. If we all look at ourselves we have felt this way in some aspect of our lives. It is so wonderful we have such an amazing Savior!

  2. I’m glad you found Ann’s blog & linked up! I’m thankful for Ann’s simple message of thanksgiving & I think I’ve been encouraged to be more thankful simply by reading other’s lists. I’m an older Christian mother of nine children & seven grandchildren. I understand how overwhelmed you would be with four children in five years! I believe you have made genuine sacrifices for your precious children.I am still sacrificing for my children & grandchildren & striving to be thankful in the sacrifice! It’s still hard! Thank God for His grace! I praise the Lord also that He is lifting you out of your depression. He loves you so much! Love & prayers, in Jesus, Cynthia (from Wyoming)

    • I too am glad that I’ve found Ann’s blog (and book)…God speaks through her in amazing ways!
      Thank you so much for your reply…it honestly helps to know that there are other mothers out there that struggle with the same things I have struggled with and continue to struggle with…I find comfort in knowing I am not alone!
      He loves you to, dear Cynthia!
      Blessings from Colorado,
      Noell

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers