inspiredness TM

Copyright 2013

Walk with Him Wednesdays: Fasting

Leave a comment

(Every Wednesday, we Walk with Him, posting a spiritual practice that draws us nearer to His heart. To read the entire series of spiritual practices
This week, and the next two weeks, as we walk with Him towards Easter, might we consider: The Practice of Fasting. We look forward to your thoughts, stories, ideas….–Ann Voskamp)

I knew today was Ash Wednesday; our church has been talking about the service they will hold tonight. I have probably even taken part in an Ash Wednesday service sometime in my past, but I realized…do I really know what it means, what it is? It marks the first official day of Lent…a season of repentance, fasting. I’m sure there are misconceptions…it’s only a “Catholic thing” might be one. People all over Twitter are “tweeting” about what they are going to give up for Lent…chocolate, drinking, sugar, Facebook, etc. Do those people really know why they’re giving these things up? Is it a mindless ritual? Is it a personal feat to overcome? Is it the “popular” thing to do? I’m just speculating here, no accusations, no judgement…just wonder.

I would consider myself a “baby Christian,” having been saved about 8 years ago. I feel like I have some much to learn, so much to read, so much more to experience.

Is our observance of Lent just a tiny speck of sand in comparison to what Christ experienced those 40 days in the wilderness and later on the cross? How does giving up chocolate even compare to the torture Jesus was put through? We can live without chocolate, can we live without Christ? It’s all symbolic…dying to our earthly desires, possessions, lives so we may be resurrected with Jesus.

I am human and a sinner. It is possible to give up those things that I covet…such a strong word, but I’m being truthful. Do I want to give up those things…probably not. Did Jesus want to die on the cross? I don’t know…I’m going to venture out on a limb and say no, but He did and He did it for us.20120222-115056.jpg

So, I am willing to give up those things that I feel have a strong hold on me in this current season of my life…I know I’ll look at the words and feel that I am such a shallow person…this is nothing compared to the wilderness.

  • Starbucks
  • Soda
  • Desserts
  • Holding grudges, not forgiving
  • Putting up a fake front…everything is okay
Author: Noell Sole - Radiant Living

Noell is a Registered Nurse (RN) and mom of 4 with a passion to help others achieve and maintain optimal health and well being...one step at a time, one day at a time! She has recently partnered with USANA Health Sciences and OneBody International to further increase her potential in helping others with their health & wellness goals!

Leave a Reply

