inspiredness TM

Copyright 2013

Temper Tantrums

7 Comments

(Originally written May 17, 2012)

This has become the common look in our household and not just from Gracie but from just about every member of the family (myself included).

I’m constantly asking myself what is causing these crazy, emotional outbursts. Am I doing something wrong as a mother? Am I  not paying enough attention or giving the wrong kind of attention? Is it due to exhaustion? Maybe it’s a hunger thing? Just a stage? Is it simply because the kids haven’t mastered certain communication skills? Oh, I could over analyze this subject for days, months, years.

The more I think about it, however, the more I realize that even as an adult I have “temper tantrums.” They may not be the classic throw-yourself-on-the-floor-and-scream tantrums but they are emotional outbursts of another kind. I might pout to myself, I may literally bang my head against the wall when I’ve had enough {as I did the other night}, I may be so hurt and angry that I can’t stop crying hysterically.

Toddlers typically throw tantrums in order to express fear and anger and according to Freud, tantrums may be a subconscious way of the tantrum-thrower to force a punishment on himself as a way to put his sense of guilt to rest (Sigmund Freud, Case Histories II (PFL9) p. 257-58). It’s also suggested that tantrums {at least in toddlers} are a result of a blow to the person’s inflated self-image (H. and I. Goldenberg, Family Therapy (2007) p. 172).

I think all of these postulations are valid and definitely true for me when I throw my “temper tantrums,” what about you? Do you ever feel like the world is out to get you, that things aren’t going your way and they never will? Do you ever feel embarrassed or humiliated by your failure and lack of perfectionism? Have you ever gotten caught doing something vengeful, spiteful to someone because you were hurt by that person? Do you ever wish that someone would just slap your hand for the sins that you’ve committed so you wouldn’t feel so bad about having committed them? I can probably raise my hand to all of these {and more}. These are “perfect” reasons to throw an adult-sized temper tantrum!

So go ahead…pout, scream, shout, bang your head on the wall {literally or figuratively} and as bad as it sounds, yell at God. Give Him your anger, humiliation, sadness, guilt, feelings of worthlessness…give it all to Him! Guess what? He won’t slap you on the hand or put you behind bars or disown you as His beloved son or daughter!

I have loved you with an everlasting love…

Jeremiah 31:3

Author: Noell Sole - Radiant Living

Noell is a Registered Nurse (RN) and mom of 4 with a passion to help others achieve and maintain optimal health and well being...one step at a time, one day at a time! She has recently partnered with USANA Health Sciences and OneBody International to further increase her potential in helping others with their health & wellness goals!

7 thoughts on “Temper Tantrums

  1. I had a lot of outbursts like that recently, and what I did, oddly enough, was stop eating simple carbs in the morning. I would make Kale and Tempeh instead of eating an egg sandwich, and oddly, I felt way better! It sounds nuts, I think that I just have an over-sensitivity to sugar- but it is important to think about the things we eat, as sugar, white bread, and simple carbs like that can make us have wild mood swings, whereas eating protein and complex carbs like brown rice can keep some of us more stable, myself included 🙂

    • Jennifer,
      You are so right! I’m sure that could have a lot to do with the crazy mood swings that I sometimes experience (that and lack of sleep and not taking care of myself). I might have to wander over to my other blog about weight loss/food to blog about this!
      Thanks so much!

      • Totally! I wish I knew some solid resources to suggest, but I don’t. If you pay attention to what you ate an hour or so before a mood swing- that is what led me to realize that sugar and bread were usually consumed. Dark chocolate though doesn’t do the same thing! 🙂 fyi.

  2. Pingback: tantrum at 11 | Why Not Fathers?

  3. Pingback: Dealing With My Son’s Tantrums « A Mom Who Just So Happens to Be a Gamer

  4. Pingback: Instant Cure to Tantrums | SEEing Miracles

  5. Pingback: Temper Tantrums: Not just for kids | My Sanity Experiment

Leave a Reply

